Points On Driver’s License: State Guide With Penalties | Motor1.com (2023)

Advertiser Disclosure

Most states have some kind of traffic violation points system, which is designed to incentivize good driving by giving negative points on licenses of bad drivers. The exact rules are different in every state, but you don’t want driver’s license points no matter where you live.

In this article, we’ll provide more details about license points systems, including how you get points, what happens when you accrue too many, and how you remove them with a defensive driving course. If you’re worried about points on your license, it’s a good idea to sign up for a defensive driving course in your state.

Compare auto insurance rates

Enter your zip code to shop for the best rates in your area:

Get a Quote

(Video) Points on Driver’s License

In This Review:

    The Driving Points System

    Each state has a different way of tracking traffic violations, but in all cases, the purpose is to punish drivers who regularly commit small infractions. While most states employ a driving points system, some don’t. The following states don’t have a system for driver’s license points:

    • Hawaii
    • Kansas
    • Louisiana
    • Minnesota
    • Mississippi
    • Oregon
    • Rhode Island
    • Washington
    • Wyoming

    Though these states don’t have points programs, they do penalize drivers who frequently receive traffic violations. Every state keeps track of driving records, but some have a less systematized method of punishing repeat traffic offenders.

    States that have points programs use driver’s license points to track behavior. Points are added to your record when you are caught breaking traffic laws. These points are removed after a certain period of time or after taking a state-certified points reduction course.

    How You Get DMV Points On Your License

    Violating any traffic law can add DMV points to your license. Usually the more serious the infraction, the more points you incur.

    In many states, speeding tickets add points to your license. The further above the speed limit you drive, the more driver’s license points you’re likely to get. In New York, driving 11 to 20 miles per hour over the speed limit will earn you 4 points, driving 31 to 40 mph over will earn you 8 points, and driving more than 40 mph over the speed limit will earn you a whopping 11 points. California, on the other hand, only adds points to your license if you drive over 100 mph.

    (Video) Which States Report Points on Your Driver's License?

    Other examples of traffic tickets and moving violations include:

    • Improper passing
    • Driving under the influence (DUI)
    • Careless driving
    • Blowing past a stop sign
    • Running a red light
    • Reckless driving
    • Not following the right of way
    • Causing injury or property damage and fleeing the scene of an accident

    Depending on the number of points on your license, you could lose driving privileges.When you get pulled over, you’ll be issued a ticket by a law enforcement officer. You then have a window of a few weeks (depending on the state) to pay the fine or appeal the ticket and request a contested hearing. You may do this if you believe the police officer was wrong and you have evidence to back that up.

    If you don’t contest the ticket, or if you do contest and lose the hearing, the infraction will be recorded on your driving record and you’ll get the points on your license.

    If you win the hearing or negotiate for leniency, you may have the infraction dropped or downgraded. You would receive fewer points or no points on your license depending on the outcome.

    Should You Fight A Traffic Ticket?

    If you committed a minor offense, you may get it dropped if you simply show up to court and the officer doesn’t. You can also argue to reduce your guilt or that the financial burden of paying highercar insurance rates in the future would be too great of a strain on your family. As long as you take time to prepare before the court date, you have a chance of reducing the judgment, and that can reduce the points on your license.

    What Driver’s License Points Mean

    Accumulating driver’s license points can result in higher fines and even license suspension. Because points systems vary by state, the number of points you need for your license to be suspended will depend on where you live.

    StatePoints for Minor Speeding TicketPoints for Major OffenseNumber of Points for License Suspension
    Arizona288 to 12
    Arkansas2814 to 17
    District of Columbia288 to 9
    HawaiiN/AN/ANo license points program
    Illinois55515 to 44
    KansasN/AN/ANo license points program
    Kentucky3612 for drivers over age 18, 7 for drivers under age 18
    LouisianaN/AN/ANo license points program
    Maryland1128 to 11
    MinnesotaN/AN/ANo license points program
    MississippiN/AN/ANo license points program
    New Hampshire2612 for drivers over age 21
    New Jersey2812
    New Mexico2812
    New York21111
    North Carolina1512
    North Dakota12412
    OregonN/AN/ANo license points program
    Rhode IslandN/AN/ANo license points program
    South Carolina2612 to 15
    South Dakota21015 to 22
    Texas237 infractions
    Utah358070 for drivers under age 21, 200 for drivers over age 21
    WashingtonN/AN/ANo license points program
    West Virginia2812 to 13
    WyomingN/AN/ANo license points program

    *Massachusetts has a points system that differs from other states in that it is only used for insurance purposes. It has other policies for determining if someone’s license should be suspended or revoked.

    (Video) Driver's License Points And What They Mean

    The length of suspension is different in every state. In many states, the amount of time your license is suspended will increase as you rack up more driver’s license points. Suspensions are also based on how quickly you accumulate points. Accruing points faster increases the chances you will lose your license.

    Finally, note that these point totals are not a good means of comparing the severity of driving infraction punishments from state to state. Because every state has a different system for assessing points, it may be much easier to get 10 points in Utah than it is to get 1 in California.

    License Revocation Vs. Suspension

    If you continue to rack up points on your license, you could get your license revoked instead of suspended. A revocation means your license is permanently taken away and you have to go through more requirements to drive again. It may take a period of years to regain a revoked license.

    How To Remove Points On Licenses

    There are two ways that states remove DMV license points. Most states automatically take away points after a certain amount of time.

    If you’re wondering how to get points off your license sooner, you can take driving classes. Some states do not offer point reductions but will let you take defensive driving classes to avoid having points assessed in the first place. If this is the case, you will likely be notified by a judge or other court official.

    StatePoints Automatically RemovedPoint Reduction Program
    AlabamaNo, but are no longer relevant for penalties 2 years after convictionNo
    Alaska2 points removed for every year without a violationYes
    ArizonaAfter 1 yearNo
    CaliforniaAfter 3 years depending on the violationNo
    ConnecticutAfter 2 yearsNo
    DelawareHalved after 1 year for some convictionsYes
    District of ColumbiaAfter 2 yearsYes
    FloridaAfter 3 yearsNo
    GeorgiaAfter 2 yearsYes
    HawaiiNo license points programNo license points program
    IdahoAfter 3 yearsYes
    IllinoisAfter 4–5 years depending on the offenseNo
    IndianaAfter 2 yearsYes
    IowaAfter 5–12 years depending on the offenseNo
    KansasNo license points programNo license points program
    KentuckyAfter 2 yearsNo
    LouisianaNo license points programNo license points program
    MaineAfter 1 yearYes
    MarylandNo, but are no longer relevant for penalties 2 years after convictionNo
    Massachusetts1 point removed from each violation each year after 5 years without an incidentNo
    MichiganAfter 2 yearsNo
    MinnesotaNo license points programNo license points program
    MississippiNo license points programNo license points program
    MissouriAfter 3 years depending on the offenseNo
    MontanaAfter 3 yearsNo
    NebraskaAfter 5 yearsNo
    NevadaAfter 1 yearYes
    New HampshireAfter 3 yearsYes
    New Jersey3 points removed for every year without a violationYes
    New MexicoAfter 1 yearNo
    New YorkAfter 1.5 years for DMV purposes and 3 years for insurance purposesYes
    North CarolinaAfter 3 years without a violationYes
    North DakotaAfter 5 years depending on the offenseYes
    OhioNo, but are no longer relevant for penalties 2 years after convictionNo
    Oklahoma2 points removed for every year without a violationYes
    OregonNo license points programNo license points program
    PennsylvaniaAfter 1–10 years depending on the offenseNo
    Rhode IslandNo license points programNo license points program
    South CarolinaHalved after 1 year and removed after 2 yearsYes
    South DakotaAfter 2 yearsNo
    TennesseeAfter 2 yearsNo
    TexasAfter 3 yearsNo
    UtahAfter 3 yearsYes
    VermontAfter 2 yearsNo
    VirginiaAfter 2 yearsYes
    WashingtonNo license points programNo license points program
    West VirginiaAfter 2 yearsYes
    WisconsinAfter 5 yearsYes
    WyomingNo license points programNo license points program

    Before you take any defensive driving class in order to remove points from your license, make sure your class is approved by your state.

    Our Points Reduction Course Recommendation

    We recommend American Safety Council defensive driving courses for drivers seeking an auto insurance discount. Other options include Comedy Defensive Driving and iDriveSafely.

    Removing driver’s license points is tedious, and defensive driving courses can run long. American Safety Council makes the process simple and straightforward. You take classes from home at your own pace and contact a 24/7 support team with any questions. Plus, American Safety Council has some of the lowest prices in the driver safety industry.

    American Safety Counciloffers state-certified point reduction courses in the following places:

    • Arizona
    • California
    • Delaware
    • District of Columbia
    • Florida
    • Georgia
    • Idaho
    • Nevada
    • New Jersey
    • New York
    • North Dakota
    • Texas
    • Virginia

    American Safety Council point reduction classes are fast and convenient, and most will allow you to print a certificate of completion at home or mail one directly to the relevant state body.

    (Video) Driving Offence Penalties You NEED to Know About! | BlackBeltBarrister

    Compare auto insurance rates

    Enter your zip code to shop for the best rates in your area:

    Get a Quote

    (Video) New Driver 6 Points Rule - 6 Points Penalty Rule For New Drivers!

    Frequently Asked Questions


    Which violation carries the most points against your license? ›

    • Operating Without Insurance.
    • Reckless Driving.
    • Speeding Tickets.
    • Stop Sign Violations.
    • Suspended License.
    • Tailgating.
    • Traffic Accidents.
    • Unsafe Lane Change.
    Sep 12, 2019

    How do I remove points from my license in MA? ›

    You can't get points off your license in Massachusetts, since Massachusetts does not use a driver's license points system. You can still have your Massachusetts license suspended if you receive three speeding tickets within 12 months, among other offenses, but Massachusetts does not track violations using points.

    How long does it take for points to come off your license in AZ? ›

    Points on your Arizona driver's license may expire after either 12 months or 36 months. Once a traffic violation is more than 12 months old, the points associated with it matter less when it comes to whether your license will be automatically suspended.

    What does 3 points on your license mean in Florida? ›

    3-Point Infractions

    This is the lowest and least severe penalty, and can typically be taken care of with a 4 hour Basic Driver Improvement course, as long as you aren't a habitual offender. More 3-point violations include: Running a stop sign. Failure to yield.

    How do you get out of a ticket? ›

    If you can prove your conduct was a “mistake of fact,” you can get out of your traffic ticket. “Mistake of fact” refers to an error made due to circumstances beyond one's control. A traffic ticket will be dismissed if it is deemed a “mistake of fact,” or simply a reasonable, honest error.

    How many points do you need to lose your license? ›

    Is there an appeals process? Having received the 6 penalty points from the court the DVLA will revoke your driving licence and have no power to do otherwise.

    Can you pay to remove points from driving Licence? ›

    There is no way to remove the points from your licence once they're marked – you'll just have to wait until the points expire (after 4 years), when the DVLA will automatically remove them at the appropriate time.

    How do I get rid of my points? ›

    You can remove points from your driving record by completing traffic school or a defensive driving course, if your state allows it. Removing points by taking a defensive driving course may keep you from a license suspension, reduce penalties for a moving violation, and lower your insurance rates.

    How can I get rid of points in Michigan? ›

    The state of Michigan does not currently have a point reduction program. Points from traffic violations will remain on your driving record for 2 years from the date of the conviction.

    What carries the highest number of points? ›

    Explanation Passing a stopped school bus carries five points; reckless driving four points; driving on the wrong side of the road four points; and passing illegally four points.

    What traffic violations give you points in California? ›

    Under California law, drivers are assigned points to their license when they receive tickets for moving violations. Moving violations are illegal maneuvers performed when the car is in motion, such as speeding, reckless driving, and running stop signs or red lights.

    How many points is a traffic violation in California? ›

    Accumulating Points on Your California Driving Record. In California, traffic offenses carry penalties of 1 or 2 license points per offense in addition to fines and other penalties prescribed by law. For more serious offenses, 2 points will be added to your driving record.

    What is the most points you can get for speeding? ›

    Most speeding offences result in the driver receiving 3-6 points and depends on where the offence occurred, how fast you are travelling and your previous record.


    1. Driving license Penalty Points Explained - Must Watch to not get into trouble @askyella
    (All about Ireland)
    2. Penalty Points Guide For Speeding Etc
    (Graham Walker)
    3. Penalty Points on Driving LIcence | Court-sentencing-guideline-Scotland
    (Graham Walker)
    4. NSW Road User Handbook - Audible Version Narrated by Learn Drive Survive™️
    (Learn Drive Survive Driving School)
    5. How to Check Your Demerit Points and Avoid a License Suspension #shorts
    (Foyle Legal)
    6. What is a Logbook Violation for a Commercial Driver?
    (Robert Gouveia Esq.)
    Top Articles
    Latest Posts
    Article information

    Author: The Hon. Margery Christiansen

    Last Updated: 12/28/2022

    Views: 5325

    Rating: 5 / 5 (50 voted)

    Reviews: 81% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: The Hon. Margery Christiansen

    Birthday: 2000-07-07

    Address: 5050 Breitenberg Knoll, New Robert, MI 45409

    Phone: +2556892639372

    Job: Investor Mining Engineer

    Hobby: Sketching, Cosplaying, Glassblowing, Genealogy, Crocheting, Archery, Skateboarding

    Introduction: My name is The Hon. Margery Christiansen, I am a bright, adorable, precious, inexpensive, gorgeous, comfortable, happy person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.